18   249
96   715
80   1234
72   1262
402   1575
142   1001
254   1405
107   1500
135   1255
117   896

An Honest Review of the Kayla Itsines BBG 12 Week Challenge

Let me preface this post by recognizing and saying that everyone’s body transformation and workout journey is so different and personal to them. I consider myself to be an outsider from the “norm” (but like what even is “normal” anyway??) because I’m a petite 5’1″ and have been around the same height and weight for as long as I can remember, which fluctuates plus or minus a few pounds depending on my routine. Because I’m so short, my body easily shows when it’s fit or not– so in that sense I am a good case study for the BBG program, ha.

My main goal from trying out the BBG program was not to lose weight, but to feel better about myself, have more energy, and become stronger and more fit. I saw the biggest change in my energy levels and strength, which honestly only I can feel and tell within myself. Thank you so much for supporting me as I share all of this with you!

My Honest Kayla Itsines BBG Review

A week ago I finished Kayla Itsines‘ Bikini Body Guide 12 week program. It is definitely a workout fad and trend that’s occurring right now, and you can read all about it here (I’ll let Kayla explain all that it entails and just share my experience here). I started it shortly after the first of the year and did it through the Sweat app. I did it solely for me, and honestly didn’t have the intention of sharing it at all on IBIP.

To be totally honest, I didn’t want to share it for a few reasons: 1. If I didn’t end up going through with it then it would be silly to carry you along half of my journey 2. What if it didn’t work?!! 3. If I didn’t full-heartedly believe in the program and love it then it would be a disservice to you to share and recommend it. I guess that gives away my conclusion… I LOVED IT.

First, let’s get to some photos and then I will answer my most commonly asked questions.

 BEFORE

These photos were taken during my last Thanksgiving in November 2017. I never shared them (I actually had to go digging to find them) because I did not feel confident at all with how they turned out. Though they may look perfectly find on the surface, I can tell even by looking at them now that I feel bloated and uncomfortable.

An Honest Review of the Kayla Itsines BBG 12 Week Challenge

before the Kayla Itsines BBG 12 Week Challenge

before the Kayla Itsines BBG 12 Week Challenge

An Honest Review of the Kayla Itsines BBG 12 Week Challenge

^bathingsuit | tote bag

WEEK 10

These photos were taken in Vero Beach about a month ago. I had just finished up Week 10 of the program and felt SO much more in love with myself and my body here. I actually think that you can see it most in my smile– I feel good! At this point I started to add in more cardio to my weeks and did 2 minutes of planks every day (a tip I learned from Rach of Pink Peonies!).

An Honest Review of the Kayla Itsines BBG 12 Week Challenge

An Honest Review of the Kayla Itsines BBG 12 Week Challenge

week 10 of Bikini Body Guide program

An Honest Review of the Kayla Itsines BBG 12 Week Challenge

^bikini {use the code ‘IBIP20’ for 20% off your order!}| necklace

AFTER

These images were taken two weekends ago in Kiawah, SC. I completed Week 12 a few days before these images but continued to do 2-minutes of planks every day. I felt strong, toned, and much more in love with my body (honestly for the first time I can remember).

Bikini Body Guide 12 week program

workout challenge

^ bikini {the bottoms run a bit big, use the code ‘AMYINPINK20’ for 20% off your order!}

I hope you can see my transition to being stronger and more confident through these images. I am not at my ideal body strength quite yet, but the progress I have made so far is unbelievably motivating for what’s in store for the future.

Q & A:

What results did you see?

I didn’t see results until around week 10. But around that time I began noticing that I was more toned and muscular. Also, I noticed it the most in my arms and stomach. I tracked my weight throughout and actually remained the same. Then, I ended up replacing fat with muscle and think that the muscle weighed even more. It’s hard to explain, but I felt stronger and thinner. Less squish, more muscle. ?

What did you eat on the program?

I stuck to pretty much my same diet. During the week I try not to have a ton of carbs or dairy and I only will have a glass of wine or cocktails on the weekends. During the program I fell in love with the NutriBullet so I now have a smoothie every morning– and the mornings after a workout I include protein in the smoothie. Also, take a look below for the exact Amazon items I ordered to help me during the program. The only things you really need to complete the program are a jumprope and a set of small weights.

How did you stay committed? 

I honestly really took everyone’s testimonials about BBG to heart and believed that if it could work for them then it could work for me as well. Two of my biggest inspirations were Rach Parcell of Pink Peonies and Krista Robertson of Covering the Bases. Both of them were very open in sharing their BBG journeys and had such positive mindsets about the program and their health.

Can I do the program if I have a busy schedule?

Yes!!! Not to go into the details of my schedule, (I actually make it a point to not complain or share the work I do every day, I only show the fun stuff instead ;)), but it might help to share to show how realistic incorporating BBG into your life is.

I wake up at 6:15, work a 8:30-5:00 pm job, commute over an hour each way, get home around 6:30, and then have about 5 hours to check and answer my blog emails, write blog posts, draft and post Instagrams, place orders for the boutique and update vendors, make and eat my dinner, prepare my breakfast and lunch for the next day (I hardly ever get food out during the weekdays), shower and pick out my outfit (which is a total thing in itself when you work in fashion ha), and catch up with my boyfriend, family, friends, and any number of followers or friends who are seeking internship, college, or general life advice.

So what did I do?! I fit in BBG workouts smack dab in the middle of the chaos that is working in fashion PR and running a blog and boutique that could easily be a full-time job themselves.

My point in telling you all of this? To honestly share what my schedule looks like (instead of disguising it with pretty Instagram stories as I tend to do), so you can see how if you can prioritize BBG and make it work for your lifestyle, then you will have the time for it. The resistance workouts are 28 minutes long so I would sometimes even do the ab ones in my apartment living room in the early morning while watching an episode of Modern Family. ? Keep a daily to-do list, and added BBG into it throughout the week. Also, I only stuck religiously to the resistance workouts and did the cardio ones when I could. I skipped one week throughout the program when I was on a big work trip, but other than that I did every consecutive week.

Would you recommend this to me?

100%. If your goal is to feel and become more energized, fit, and toned, then this program can definitely help.  Download the app and start today lady!

What is your plan now?

I am currently mid-way through doing the BBG 1.0 12 week program over again. By the end of doing it the first time, I was modifying a lot of the resistance workouts (like the pushups!) and so I really felt like I needed the do the whole program over again before moving on to BBG 2.0. I can honestly say that I’m sore from doing 2 out of the 3 resistance programs this week so I can confidently tell you that I made the right decision in doing the program over again to get even stronger and truly try to master it.

. . .

I hope this helps, inspires, or encourages you in some small way. In the end, it’s all about figuring out how to create your happiest, most confident self. Work hard but then don’t forget to indulge. I’m literally eating a whole pizza and drinking a pear cider as I’m typing this. It’s called ~balance~ (and a serious lack of self-control ;)).

xx

Share:

5 Comments

  1. April 29, 2018 / 8:08 pm

    Girl you look fabulous in your before AND after pictures. Love your honesty! I did BBG before my bachelorette/wedding shenanigans and have been meaning to get back into it….Thank you for the inspiration 🙂

    • Amy
      Author
      April 29, 2018 / 10:35 pm

      Thank you so much Susan!! I love that– please let me know if you get back into it! It really is the best 🙂 xxo

  2. Meghan
    April 29, 2018 / 10:06 pm

    I thought the app was honestly frustrating to use, I had a hard time tracking/logging any sort of extra workouts or cardio or whatnot. I switched to toneitup and I enjoy the interface more although I do find the workouts aren’t as challenging! I really loved how “short and sweet” (hahaha) the workout are on BBG though!

    • Amy
      Author
      April 29, 2018 / 10:33 pm

      Oh my gosh I had the SAME experience when I first started using the app. I just couldn’t figure it out! I watched a few YouTube videos on it actually and then got used to the interface and how it works. It definitely was a struggle the first two-ish weeks though! I’m glad you found something different that works for you. I will have to check out toneitup! Thanks for stopping by and reading 🙂 xx

  3. April 30, 2018 / 6:53 am

    Susan Tulu Bounds says, thanks! And thanks for sharing your great posts every week!

Audrey Hepburn
Powered by chloédigital